Southwest Conference
         Final Standings, 2007

(For fans of the late, great Southwest Conference,
according to Jeff Sagarin’s computer rankings.)

Arkansas Razorbacks wrapped
up their second straight Southwest Conference
football championship with a three-overtime victory
over then-number-one LSU.  The Razorbacks won the
title outright following
Texas A&M’s season-ending 38-
30 upset of the
Texas Longhorns in College Station.

Texas Tech rose to third in the conference on the
basis of their season-ending win over national title
contender Oklahoma, while A&M followed at fourth.  
TCU’s Horned Frogs at fifth led the private schools in
the conference, though finishing lower than last year’s
Houston came in sixth, despite a season-
ending smashing of FCS-member Texas Southern.

Bringing up the bottom,
Baylor topped Rice both on
the field and in the standings, despite a disappointing
3-9 finish.  Rice, fresh off its first bowl appearance
since 1963, struggled to find any semblance of a
defense under a new coach.
 SMU once again came
in last, winning only one contest in a long, difficult

Baylor, Texas A&M, and SMU will be looking for new
coaches in the off-season.

Arkansas                      81.83                8-4
Texas                            80.75                9-3
Texas Tech                  79.49                8-4
Texas A&M                   77.04                7-5
TCU                               73.03                7-5
Houston                       65.40                8-4
Baylor                           57.63                3-9
Rice                              50.05                3-9
SMU                              46.82               1-11

©2007, John G Cunyus, All Rights Reserved

Words, Images, and Layout
©2007, John G. Cunyus
All Rights Reserved

John Cunyus is freelance writer
working in North Texas.  His work
may be viewed online at
A Handbook for
Christian Healing
2007 Results

2006 Results